Gluten Free Beer

Some beers are marketed as Gluten-Free; they contain zero gluten. The FDA controls products labeled as Gluten-Free in the USA.

Gluten-free beers have a restriction on only the cereal grain ingredients used in the recipe. Cereal grains are potential sources of gluten. They do not have a restriction on the water, hops, yeast, additives, or adjuncts used in the recipe, as those ingredients are not potential sources of gluten.

Common cereal grains including barley, wheat, and rye cannot be used (they naturally contain gluten). Gluten-free beers use alternate gluten-free cereal grains in the recipe, including sorghum, rice, oats, and corn (maize). Some adjuncts may be used, including sugars, syrups, and molasses, to provide extra fermentable sugar to the recipe.

Gluten sensitivity is a relatively new field of research. An estimated 0.5% of the population is gluten intolerant. However, an estimated 10.0% of the population may be glutent sensitive (Doctors' estimations range from 5 - 50%).

Some brewing yeast products contain nutrients to facilitate a healthy population. The nutrients may contain gluten.

Any gluten-free cereal grains that may be processed on the same equipment as cereal grains containing gluten may contain some gluten.

Gluten Safe Cereal Grains for Beer

Gluten Unsafe Cereal Grains for Beer

All Content is Copyright © 2015, Brew Muse, LLC. All Rights are Reserved.